Oakland Freedom Jazz Society Presents...

Bruckmann/Wong/Brown Trio: "First Light" & "Obelisk"

Chris Brown, piano/electronics
Kyle Bruckmann, oboe/electronics
Theresa Wong, cello/voice

The trio performs compositions in just intonation by Chris Brown extended with free improvisations and interactive computer interventions.  This concert includes First Light, set to poetry by Jackson MacLow and harmonies composed using Harry Partch's 43-tone tuning. Obelisk (2014), an improvisation structure in a 7-limit tuning for the trio with interactive electronics, rounds out the program. 

(Dress rehearsal for a performance at The Stone in NYC on 6/20, part of Chris Brown's "Six Nights of Microtonal Electroacoustic Music" residency there.)


C.J. Boyd

Bassist turned vagabond C.J. Boyd uses bass loops and voices in order to try to stop time. On perpetual tour since March 2008, movement and stasis are both at the center of his music. Weaving together improvisation with a sparse, minimalist aesthetic, Boyd creates waves of sound, worlds of provocative unlived memories through a singular approach to the upright bass and electric bass guitar that makes everything near and far.

Bandcamp | Facebook 



$7 - $15 sliding scale

Oakland Freedom Jazz Society currently takes place every Monday night at Studio Grand. Lineups feature avant-jazz, experimental and noise performances by local and touring musicians and multimedia artists. OFJS is a long-running (4 years and counting!) series curated by Fernando Carpenter of VAMP.  For more information, check out OFJS's Facebook page.